Why do students prefer doing part-time job during their studies? Do you think this has more advantages than disadvantages?

It is known that students often find part-time jobs appealing in order to cater for their exorbitant expenses as well as gain work experience. However, these jobs seem to pose a problem for the students

One obvious issue with working part time as a student is that there tend to be less study time. Just like every other occupation, these jobs definitely demand for time and concentration. More specifically, most occupations in my country have strict resumption time, say 8 a.m. - 2 p.m., which must be strictly adhered. While this period is being spent on completing the job tasks, the students academic assessment is piling. Because of the need to devote some time to carry out occupational duties, the students often pay less attention to their studies.

However, the funds acquired in part-time jobs cater for the astronomical cost of education. The finance complaint of most students - that they cannot afford textbooks, and perhaps, tuition fees - is being dealt with. This is the case in the University of Toronto where the majority of students engage in several menial jobs, and it pays off with consistent income. If they had not done these jobs, they would not have been able to afford their fees.

Furthermore, work experience is gained and reflected in the students' resume. Not only that every job duties, for example, communicating, typing and persuading are recorded as achievements, but they will also be referenced to potential employers in the future. So, although the job may not be for long hours, the little responsibilities are additional advantage for the students, which might give them an edge over other future job applicants.

In conclusion, students often take part-time jobs to supplement their income and to get some occupational knowledge, although it may affect their study time. Even with this time constraint, I believe such activities will greatly increase their employment opportunities as well as their source of income. Part-time jobs should be done by more students