Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisment is a key medium for any organization/manufacturer/service provider to engage with it's consumer. Advertimsements can be of different types such as television commercial, digital scial media Ad or newspaer/banner etc.

Now a days organizations allocate signifiacnt budget for marketing campaigns for their products. It is evident from research that an investment in advertisment do result in incremental revenue and hence improved profits/cash flows.

Benifits of the advertisement are debateable, a person might get introduced to a useful product that can have a positive impact on wellbeing; e.g. advertisement of a Vitamin D tablet that can reduce joint pains. On the other hand we often see a "cool good looking model" puffing cigarette which is indirectly encouraging underage audiance to smoke.

In my opinion the the pros of advertismeent outweight the cons. We have enetered in a world that is continously evolving and the consumer is always looking for a perfect product. Everyone is thriving to have a better lifestyle. It would be diffcult for organizations to share development of any new product with the target consumer if there is no channel to enage with it's consumer. We would not have seen the technological revolution, if this important medium of interaction was missing. Who would have known about Microsoft if they haven't advertised about Windows. These technologically advanced products would have been considered just for geeks to do office work. It was the advertisment who indicated that how these products can be used by an average Jo to bring ease in his life. Similarly car, mobiles and all the devices now in the market got accepted via advertismenet.

It is very difficult to catgeorize what is a necessity and what is not. Purchasing a latest laptop might be a must have product for a person working in IT field, while it might not be mildly attractive for a 50 year old plumber. Therefore; in my opinion, now the audience knows about their needs/wants and are continously seeking new products that can make life more comfortable.