Writing Task 2 (an essay)Some people say that not all criminals should be sent to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work to help people in the community. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Criminal activities are tremendously increasing day by day in our society. In most of the countries, culprits are sent to prison for long years on the basis of their crime, whereas, in some countries the offence are punished the same instance without letting them to stay in jail.There is a debate going on whether to keep prisoners in Jail or they should do unpaid work to help people in the community. We will have a brief discussion on both the concepts and reach to a final conclusion at the end.

On one hand, criminals are sent to jail for one or another reason. They might be arrested for reasons like theft or a murder. So we cannot be sure whether the offensive is dangerous to approach or not. So it is better to keep the culprit on a jail for our safety. We cannot be sure when they would be hyperactive and if something happens, it would be very difficult to control them.Moreover offensive people doesnot deserve any kind of concession as they broke the rules. For example, most of the jails in India is providing chappathis and chicken curry for the criminals in Jail. This would bring a negative impact on people as well as criminals. People would believe that even if they are put in a jail for any reason, they would be served with chicken curry.

On the other hand, some of the people say that the criminals should do some unpaid work to help people in the community. As long as the Government spends money for the expense of the jail maintenance, food and all other facilities, the involvement of prisoners would be a benefit for the country. Most of the criminals might not be arrested for an intentional crime. Some might have done those because of their situation. For example, a father might kill the person who raped her daughter. Here the father is not a born criminal. It was the situation which forced him to do the same.Likewise,so many people would be there in Jail. So it is better to give a moral and mental support for them. Even nowadays,the prisoners are allocated with some duties and they get paid for the same. So this money would be an earning for them to spend after they get released from the jail. Eventhough if they are involved in activities from which they do not get any wages, still they can refresh their mind.

As a sum up, i reached to a conclusion that the criminals should be engaged in any of the social activities as it can helps them to engage with people and learn more about the social values.