Writing task 2

Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities

Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working over time become a common phenomenon these days in our society especially in our mega cities. And it seems to be an increasingly widespread concern that overwork is stealing our leisure time and activities. I think the keen competition and modern working pattern are responsible for this.

In the past, it was not common for the people to working overtime, due to the booming population and globalisation, people have to compete not only the fresh graduates from universities but also the with the qualified job applicants from overseas. Work more to obtain a decent job is the key of success in workplace. It is true that it will bring the benefit for companies and organisations to choose the best employees all over the world and boost the productivity, therefore, it will achieve the fast growth of GDP of our society.

It is also true that there are many famous companies have the culture of long working hours. For example, In a TV interview of the CEO of Alibaba Jack Ma, he was admitted that the one of reasons of the success of Alibaba was the long working hours culture in this company, and it is also true for some other international giants like HUAWEI and Tencent.

Of course. This issue is bring some negative effects to the employees for it steal lots of their leisure time to relax or company with their families. Over time work may result both physical and emotion problems. The staff who always working overtime may have little time to go gym or do exercise, and might not be able to talk and play with their kids. They lose their health and happiness.

Although it is deem that the long working hours may bring the high productivity of company and better indicator of GDP. But only the work and life balance could make this growth more sustainable.