Writing task 2Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Working over time become a common phenomenon these days in our society especially in mega cities. Then it seems to be an increasingly widespread concern that overwork is stealing our time for social activities and entertainment. I think while overwork can produce higher efficiency for economy, it may lead to serious health issues in the workplace.

In the past, it was not common for the people to work overtime, but due to the rising population and widespread globalisation, people have to compete with not only the fresh graduates from universities but also the job seekers coming back from overseas. Spending more hours working in an office to impress bosses is the key to secure a decent job. It is true that this trend will bring companies and organizations the benefit to choose the best employees all over the world and boost the productivity, therefore, it will achieve the fast growth of GDP of our society.

It is also true that there are many famous companies have the culture of long working hours. For example, In a TV interview of the CEO of Alibaba Jack Ma, he admitted that one reason of the success of Alibaba was the long working hours culture in this company, and it is also true for some other international giants like HUAWEI and Tencent.

Of course,this culture can cause health problems for employees who continuously work long hours every day.As they sacrifice leisure time to do regular exercise,play sport games and unwind in outdoor activities,they may suffer from physical difficulties such as heart diseases. Moreover, the lack of social activities with family and friends can threaten their relationships and create psychological diseases such as depression. Even though they have made a fortune through hard working,the happiness of being healthy and strong bond with people they love can not be bought by money.

Although it is deemed that the long working hours may bring the high productivity of company and better indicator of GDP. But only the work and life balance could make this growth more sustainable.