You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In our modern age, while the emergence of emails has gradually replaced handwriting letters, some people think it is difficult to replace this form of communication. In my opinion, even though writing letters has some advantages, we cannot deny the important role of emails in our life.

Writing a letter is a traditional way that exists some disadvantages. First, handwriting letters will take more time to send to recipients. In fact, this process normally takes two to seven days to send a letter, which might not work if we need to solve the problems immediately or send an email to other countries. Second, sending letters by post mail services will cost a certain amount of money while regular emails are almost a free service. It means that we have to pay for the mail service company every time we send a letter; therefore, this is not a popular type of communication nowadays.

In addition to that, emails themselves bring many benefits for users. First, it is one of the fastest ways when it comes to communication in our technology age. We can send a large number of emails immediately after a few seconds. Other than that, emails also give us a sense of convenience. Since this type of communication requires electronic devices such as a laptop, a smartphone, or an iPad, we can correct grammar errors much more easily. Moreover, we do not need to travel to the post offices to send letters.

In conclusion, although handwriting letters is good, the benefits of emails are more significant. That is the reason more and more people use emails for not only their jobs but also their personal life.