Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give own opinion.

In recent years, the concern of information privacy has gained a great deal of public attention in the community. When it comes to job applications, some people feel it is inconvenient to reveal the personal information about their hobbies and interests, or their marriage status. In my opinion, even though it has some drawbacks, its advantages are more significant.

On the one hand, some applicants feel uncomfortable to show their personal information to employers. First, this information can result in biases during the time of interviews as well as how employers evaluate the candidates. Some managers prefer recruiting single people as they might have more free time and innovations than married ones, however, this is not always true. Second, this sharing can possibly get rid of some potential employees who are result-oriented people. In fact, there are the number of fulfillers who spend most of their time on climbing the higher ladders in their career and forget their personal interest. Therefore, if using this information to determine if they are a good fit or not, it will have some negative effects.

On the other hand, many people think it is necessary to share personal information when applying for jobs for some reasons. They believe that this information can help interviewers simply identify whether that candidate can be a good fit for a position or not. For example, hiring manager can consider how long a potential candidate can work for company throughout their married statuses or their interests. According to some online researches, married people are more likely to stay at a company longer than the single ones. In addition, there are some jobs that require other skill sets such as art, photography, and drawing. If a person does not have these interests, it might be irrelevant for the job requirements.

In conclusion, although sharing personal information online is not an optimal solutions, it perhaps helps employers choose good candidates for their vacancies.