You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Opinion about commercials have have raised controversy among some people. While a school of thought opines that it allows us to purchase items that are unnecessary, others think that they enlighten us about new items that will give our lives a facelift. I am of the opinion that irrespective of the fact that it is informative, it also lures people to buy things they do not need and I will explain this in this essay.

To begin with, advertisement has been identified as a medium of wooing buyers to patronised a particular product because the goal of every business is to increase supply and maximise profits and this is only realizable when there is a large market for products. To increase their purchase, advertisements are used to work on the psychology of consumers, who would in turn be swayed by the sugar-coated tongues of marketers or the jingles. For instance, a large percentage of persons who visited the Wuse market in Abuja always return with an item or two they did not budget for or need. As a result of the reasons stated above, it is valid to hold that jingles make us purchase products we do not need.

On the other hand, in as much as advertorials can be used to lure customers to unwanted products, it is also a necessary way to inform the consumers of the attributes or special quality of the goods. When there is a new product in town, final consumers have limited knowledge of what the product is for, thus through the use of commercials, the knowledge of the items are brought to them to guide their choice. In fact, I always look out for the advertisement for new products before I purchase them and it has been reported that 60 percent of consumers of new products purchase them due to the display of the goods and its branding on television and radio jingles. As such, it is reasonable to admit that this information is the major reason for advertising.

To conclude, while it is true that advertising brings us to the knowledge of new products and services, it has some psychological effect on the purchasers and influence in no small measures our choices.