You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising is plays a pivotal role in marketing of goods and services. Nowadays companies spend thousands and thousands of dollars on publicizing their products. Some people argue that advertising brainwash consumers while creating a false image of the items they advocate for and therefore lead to impulse buying. Others say that without ads, consumers would not even know about the existence of certain items in the first place. In my opinion advertisements can have a negative impact on people with poor spending habits.

Firstly, the main aim of adverts is to inform people on products and services. Nowadays, advertisements run on digital media, print media and broadcast media and therefore accessible to most of us. This is key for companies since they take it as an opportunity to educate consumers on what a product can do, where a product can be purchased from and sometimes how much it costs. As a result, this information ends up being of great benefit to buyers as they so not hassle finding items they may require for their different needs. For instance, an ad on Television about books for kindergarten children may come in handy for a first time parent who may be clueless on where to find such books. In a nutshell, information provided on advertisements comes in very handy for consumers.

On the other hand, the marketing gimmicks applied while promoting products can be disastrous. Social scientists have found that there is a direct correlation between impulse buying and advertisements. Spendthrifts and shopaholics are easily influenced. Consequently, they may end up spending on a whim from the misleading information provided on ads. These careless spending habits can result to bankruptcy as people try to match the lifestyle displayed. It would be crucial that people watch their spending habits and double check the information given in ads before spending their hard-earned cash.

In conclusion, consumers ought to be careful with the choices they make from the adverts they come across to avoid putting themselves in financial jeopardy.