1
As knowledge and experience serve as towers in problem-solving, one is often
presented with two major paths that pave the way for final fulfillment, either to wrack his brain,
just like what happened to Neuton, siiting for many years under an apple tree and eventually
figuring out and of the greatest universal rules that govern the whole globe, or to seek for others’
widsom through their advice, just as in the case of Benjinin Franklin, gathering great minds under
one roof and then establishing a most world-renown libray. Both ways work. When a practical
goal is involved, however, Benjimin Franklin may best be regareded as a role model in this respect
and asking people for advice often turn out to be the prime alternative.
Experience and knowledge borrowed or learned from others’ advice contribute greatly to
effectiveness and effeciency for a goal-accomplishment. Not all experience and knowledge related
to problem-solving can be obtained by personal effort alone due to limitations of mind and
capabilities of each individual. A single thought in someone’s mind is, more often than not, far less
shining compared with group’s wisdom. That explains the famous old saying that one sees further
when standing upon the shoulders’ of past great giants; that explains why a great leader is always
with greater minds; that also explains why teamwork in corperation is highly emphasized in the
21st century. Brainstorm and exchange of ideas between different thoughts never fail to enhance
capabilities of each individula involved, a team, a company, an institution, a country, or even the
entire global village.
Asking others’ advice instead of getting everything done on one’s own promotes democracy
and communication too. In terms of democracy, it is necessary to give others rights and chances to
speak since the problem may concern them in different ways, and their saying in turn reflects our
respect toward freedom of speech as well as their wisdom. In terms of communication, idea
exchange sometimes focuses more than solutions, and hereby better mutual understanding about
perspectives, principles, praticalities and personalities of each other.
Admittely turning to others for help and suggestion by no means refers to absolute and
irresponsible dependence. Consideration upon different thoughts and ideas broadens our mind,
enlarges our vision, furthers understanding, enhances more effective and efficient brainstorm, and
stresses mutual respect in groups and communities, which undoubtedly gives rise to better, if not
the best solutions. As is paraphrased from John F Kenedy, brainstormed, there is little we cannot
do while divided, there is little we can do.