Is the ability to read and write more important today than in the past? Why or why

not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Illiteracy has become a big obstacle during last century and is still a problematic question with quick development of technology and automation. While some countries have taken various steps to eradicate it and focuses on strong foundation of education, on the other hand, many countries neglect this and still doesn’t care that much. Well, personally, I believe from my every day experience and observation, that ability to read and write is the most important. I have several reasons to substantiate my viewpoint, but I will mainly discuss two major reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, it is essential for a person to have at least the basic knowledge of reading and writing to survive in this society. While, in the past, some people could live without the knowledge of written language, but now it is nearly impossible. The way of living has changed so much that an illiterate person cannot be a part of the nation, especially in the developed countries. Without having an ability to read or understand your bills, taxes, and other documents, you would have to deal with lots of problems. Even, you can go nowhere by yourself without reading the maps and road signs. Uneducated people have to relay on the others for help.

Second, nowadays, most of the jobs require reading and writing skills and the tendency that these skills will be more important has increased. In fact, due to development of technology, more jobs of Labor market are for literate people. For example, work on land and factories doesn’t require a number of people because most of the work is done by machines and gadgets. Hence, people who can read the instruction well and operate the machines are hired. My mother’s recent experience is a good case in point, her office made it mandatory to use computers for maintain files but as she doesn’t know to operate computer she was compelled to leave her job.

In conclusion, the scariest part of an illiterate person’s life is that he can’t do all the things on his own, he has to depend on others for assistance. And not only he will face difficulty doing simple tasks, but also he will be of no use to nation as a productive and useful individual. Hence, due to the aforementioned reasons, the ability of reading and writing is the most important.