agree or disagree? today young people have better abilities to make decisions than pas young people

It goes without saying that in this progressive and sophisticated world where we live, decision making for each individual is of utmost importance since it will lead their lives either to flourish or be doomed to a failure. While some people believe that young people used to be dependent on their parents to make the important decisions of their lives, others stand at the other end of the continuum, holding the view that nowadays people are capable of making their own decisions about their personal life. Personally speaking, I strongly agree with this statement and the reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

To begin with, because of the scarcity of up to date information and relevant knowledge of different subjects, children used to be dependent on their parents and take advantage of their personal experience in order to make a sound decision. To be more specific, with the advent of technology and the internet, in particular, young people are being provided with diverse assortment of information and wisdom to rely on so as to make a rational decision. However, it is no secret to anyone that, earlier in time, the only fundamental source of knowledge and wisdom was family and the parents. An example can drive this notion home. When comparing myself with my twenty year old brother, I can vividly realize the distinction in the way we use to make decisions. While I still depend on my parents and consider them as the main treasury of experience and knowledge, my brother uses his social network friends and take their advice instead; on the basis of which he will make a decision about his future and demands. Being from an older generation, I can understand that there is a huge gap between the way my brother and I make decisions about either the most important or the most trivial aspect of our lives.

Furthermore, thanks to the genesis of the social community services, young people have been empowered with a strong socializing ability which will lead them to make a decision on their own. In this vein, it is taken for granted that being equipped with a strong communication ability will shed lights on young people's state of mind. The more people they see and communicate with, the better their ability to make decision. That is to say, young people, despite of the previous generation who used to be dependent on their parents, can use their peers and other news resources to make a sound decision; this opportunity was not accessible and available to the past generation. In fact, past generation did not have the challenges that the younger generation experience; as a result, it is nonsense for young people to be dependent on someone who has not taste the challenge himself. As an illustration, my parents did not have the hectic university life as we do, they were not concerned about different professors or a variety of other related issues. However, when I have a problem like this, I can easily and conveniently ask my friends and use their experience in order to make my own decision.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and points into consideration, I strongly agree that young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Not only do they take advantage of the up to date knowledge and information, but also they can socialize with their peers to make a rational decision.