Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

It’s hard to deny that movies and television which contains violence may distort young people’s value, and such fact may mislead some waxy people to generate the idea that movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. However, such a statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, and it should be examined painstakingly. As far as the guide, motivation and supervision are concerned, I strongly hold that movies and television have more positive than negative effects on the young people.

First and foremost, the movies and television can guide young man to the right way to behave. It is so called the cultural value orientation. When the young generation watch TV series on history and etiquette, they can learn basic and essential knowledge of how to treat the world. As long as the characters on TV behave correctly, impressionable young people will imitate their right behaviors and behave well.

Furthermore, plots and characters in movies and TV can always motivate young people to aim high and behave well. Films and TV, as the extension of literature, are always used by directors as the innovative way to show remarkable ideology which can always be auspicious. Take myself as an example, I don’t behave well in Maths from my primary school to middle school and gradually I accept the fact that I am dump at Maths. However, during my high school, I watched the film Forrest Grump and the hero Grump’s life moved me a lot. As long as you keep running, fortune will fall on you and that’s what the film has taught me. For me, the fortune is the great progress of Maths score in high school.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that films and TV are inevitably to include violent scene to attract audiences which can cause young people to become violent. To some extent, such a statement is correct. However, it omits a indispensable character in releasing the film and TV that is the supervisor. Government has already set certain organizations to administrate the films and TV and the motion picture rating system is one of the achievements. Besides the government from the highest perspective, teachers from the school, parents and even friends of young people can play important roles in deliberately filter the inappropriate films.

In a nutshell, I maintain that movies and television have more positive effects than detrimental effects on the way young people behave. Admittedly, some people may oppose me. However, as what Henry Bessemer once said, he had no fixed ideas derived from long-established practice to control and bias his mind, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.