Ambitious dreams are better than realistic goals. Agree or disagree?

In today’s world, people have diverse plans in their life, some are mundane life goals while some are ambitious dreams. Personally, I strongly believe that individuals should have reachable goals instead of big unrealistic dreams. I feel this way for two reasons, on which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, concentrating on realistic aims and trying to reach them, people will have better mental health. To be more specific, when individuals have big and unrealistic dreams, there would be a less chance for them to achieve those dreams. Therefore, if they not to achieve their keen dreams, they may face various mental health problems, including stress, depression and despondent about their futures. In contrast, having achievable aims not only encourage people to strictly follow them but also leads them to have better mental health, since they will not experience high pressure and stress may coming from possibility of achieving their dreams. My own experience demonstrates this point. When I was a high school student, I wanted to be a doctor. In Iran, where I live, students need to pass an entry exam in order to be qualified for starting their programs at universities. Moreover, Medical Science programs are very popular among students, which makes getting an admission arduous. Therefore, I had to study hard to achieve my goal. Unfortunately, I couldn’t pass the exam although I have studied 12 hours a day for more than two years. As a result, I was very depressed not only because I failed the exam but also because I lost roughly two years of my life. Had I not had being a doctor in my mind, which was a big dream at least for me, I would not have depressed.

Furthermore, by focusing on realistic aims, people have more opportunity to follow further goals. Indeed, big dreams need strenuous effort, which means people cannot pursue different dreams at the same time, however, concrete goals need less effort meaning that people have enough time and energy to follow diverse goals all together. In other words, when people have big dreams, they need to concentrate precisely on their dreams if they want to achieve them. Hence, they can’t follow another plan as it may deviant them from their main way. By and large, this is possible to have different achievable goals at once, which makes me to believe that having realistic goals is more suitable than having desire dreams.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people have to choose realistic and concrete aims rather than ambitious dreams and try to pursue them in their life. Not only it makes them to have better mental health, but also it provides them opportunity for following and achieving more different goals at the same time.