Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources.

In today’s progressive and sophisticated world, with the development of technology, there are a lot of news media people can use. While some people think that being well-informed about latest news and information around the world require them to follow diverse news medias, I hold the opposite idea. I feel this way for two main reasons, on which I explore in the following essay.

To begin with, following different news sources is time consuming, and it does not necessarily make people to be well-informed. In the past, there were fewer medias, meaning that people had not very options to choose in order to be informed of what is going on around them. In contrast, Nowadays, there are many news sources including different news programs on TV, all free available online programs in different websites and applications like YouTube, many newspapers and so on. In addition, almost all these sources are working on similar news which is happening all around the world. Therefore, getting information from many different sources is time consuming and, since most of them are giving us repetitious news.

Furthermore, individuals need to concentrate on information they receive if they want to be well-informed. Some people prefer to follow different medias because they think in this way, they can absorb information as much as possible; so, they don’t miss any detail. However, it makes them to be distract. As a case in point, there is a body of distraction-concentration research that I recently read. The researchers conducted an experiment to ascertain what is the most important factor that distracts people when they are perceiving information. In one experiment they gave individuals the information about an event that was occurred recently through a passage reading. After that, researchers ask people to present the event; so, they could analyze how much detail people have absorbed. Next, the researchers run another experiment that was the same of the first experiment but with a little different. In the second test, people got the information about another event but from different ways including reading, Video, Podcast. The results showed that the level of concentration is directly related to number of ways they receive information. In other words, the more numbers of media they get the same information, the more they are subject to distraction. By and large, this finding can at least partly explain why getting news from fewer sources is much better than getting information from several news sources.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that people need to get information and news from a limit number of sources. Not only they can save their time, but also it leads them to be more concentrated on news and information they receive, making them to be well-informed.