Some people prefer to focus on ambitious dreams while others think realistic goals are more important Which do you prefer and why

In the past several decades, the world has gone through massive changes. Nowadays, more and more people have abilities and time to pursue their dreams than their predecessors. In this regard, the debate over whether people should follow an ambitious dream rather than a normal one is still fierce. In my opinion, I firmly believe people should to follow a realistic dream.

Admittedly, some may suggest that a ambitious dream motivate people to achieve more, and it is ture that there are a few cases that people who prusues an amibitious dream achieved success and becomed famous worldwide. However, people tend to ignore some points that significantly contribute to these abovementioned cases. Their success consist of privileged socioeconomic backgrounds, competent coworkers, and a little bit of luck. All of these factors make these cases being hard to reproduce. Therefore, as an average person, a realistic dream is more rational choice.

Moreover, an unrealistic goal may frustrate us. During following the dream, people inevitably confront with setback. If they set too ambitious goal, these problems may become untouchable and hopeless, which works against their self-confidence. Consequently, their dream will dampen their motivation and hinder them from further achievement. On the other hand, people who sets a realistic goal are more likely to get what they want through continuely hard working. According to a recent study conducted by Harvard University, researchers have shown that fifty-eight percent of interviewees considered a unrealistic goal would bring excessive presure for them.

Last but not least, choosing a realistic goal does not necessarily mean achieving little. As an old saying goes, " Success is only achievable by passing a ladder step by step." Once they achieved their goal, they can reset a new one and pursue it again, thereby, to obtain an excellent success.

In a nutshell, it is a undoubtedly a wiser choice that pursuing a realistic dream rather than an ambitious goal.