Ambitious dreams or realistic dreams

Currently, with the burgeoning development of the economic, an increasing number of individuals are stimulated to pursue their dreams. Under the circumstance, a bunch of individuals reckon that the more ambitious the dream is, the more achievement they may achieve, thus they keep pursuing the ambitious targets. Whereas, some individuals believe merely the realistic goals are plausible. Personally speaking, I prefer the second kind of opinions and there are a couple of reasons to account for my points of view.

To start with, it is a terrific approach to reinforce their confidence to concentrate on realistic goals. Each time they accomplish their little targets, they obtain the sense of accomplishment, which enables them to enhance their self-confidence. On the contrary, those individuals with ambitious dreams cannot fulfill their tasks and what they persist on may even offer poor value for them, which not only saps their enthusiasm for the ambitious targets but also dampens their confidence or plagues them with self-doubts. For instance, one of my best friends, Rebecca, set her goal as being admitted by the top key universities. Hard as she studied, her academic performance cannot be significantly enhanced. Worse still, due to the large quantities of time was distributed to learn physics at the aim of ranking the first from the department, her English also suffered, which enslaved her with self-doubt that whether she was suitable for studying. The example illustrates that setting some tremendously ambitious goals is likely to impede us from achieving success since the obstacles we are confronted with makes us lose confidence progressively.

What’s more, it is more feasible for us to pursue realistic goals. The realistic goals are definite enough for us to schedule our plans. Meanwhile, since the realistic goals are usually temporary, the plans we make are likely to be implemented without the disrupting external factors. The research conducted in Harvard University to evaluate individuals’ capabilities of making achievements demonstrates that those children with small but feasible goals in their future lives tend to become outstanding in some specific domains, like the theoretical physics, anthropology or architects. Conversely, those children who once set ambitious goals for their future lives are likely to perform poorly in their careers, even some of them are not capable of making their ends meet by themselves. This experiment demonstrates that it is more feasible to pursue nominal goals and the accumulation of fulfilling the nominal goals enables the individual to make more achievements.

Admittedly, it seems that the ambitious dreams are relatively appealing, nevertheless, the nominal goals also enable us to accomplish ambitious goals, since every time we fulfill the nominal goals we adjust the plan to pursue the next nominal goals, and during the process of accumulation, the ambitious targets can be attained.

In a nutshell, it is an optimal method of insisting on pursuing the realistic goals, since it not only enables us to achieve the ambitious targets by the progressive accumulation but also fosters our self-confidence by offering the sense of accomplishment.