Are parents the best teachers? Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I absolutely disagree with the statement that parents are the best teachers. It’s unquestionable that parents play a crucial role in children's’ growth, but not necessarily serve as teachers.

It’s true that under some circumstances especially during the early part of a kid’s life, s/he learn most of the basic skills and common senses from his or her parents. Besides, as parents are the ones who the child spend majority time with before and while they learn how to interact with others, they can learn social interacting skills through monic their parents’ way of communicating, working, and stuff. In this way, it may be true that parents are the POTENTIAL best teachers of children, as long as they have a good understanding of what and how to teach their children, which, in most consequences, is not true.

As parents and teens live in very different ages, it’s very likely that the former fails to catch up with the world, namely, their concepts and knowledge are outmoded. The consequence of this can be devastating especially when some of the bumptious parents try to give their children instructions upon topics which they’re not familiar with, as the children would be misled and facing otherwise much lighter pressure.

Moreover, parents may also be not capable of teaching their children in the right ways. Some parents who are not so good at control themselves when their children make mistakes may ill-treat their children, like beating them, shouting at them, etc., which will do harm to the mental health of kids. Other parents may praise their kids too much so that their children’s mistakes fail to be corrected, which is not good for their development either.

In short, though parents who are also best teachers can bring consequential advantages to kid’s personal development, not every parent can be called a qualified teacher, not to mention ‘the best’.