Better life

Nowadays, the competition in society is becoming more and more intense, and the burden on teens is getting bigger heftier. Lots of people are beginning to reminisce about the days when their grandparents were young, and that was the 1950s. If I was were an American, then I might be like them and reminisce about when my parents were younger. But being Chinese , today's life is way better than that period in every single facet.

Our food today was never even dreamed of 50 years ago. China in the 1950s was very poor, and people could eat meat only once a year. Their wish was to have a full stomach every day. What about now? People's expectations of meals are high. We think that it is important to match meat and vegetables with nutrients. Milk, eggs, steak, vegetables, some dogmatic people feel that ordinary vegetables with chemical fertilizers are unhealthy, so they will choose more expensive organic vegetables. According to statistics, the average height of adults in 2020 is a striking 7 cm taller than it was in 1950. This is the most direct result of the progress in food.

The working conditions are even more behind than the food. Teens now think that finding a job is hard, but in the 1950s, finding a job wasn't about the matter of hard or not, it was about the matter of having no opportunity. People could not choose jobs. Instead, they were assigned posts. Every factory has a limited amount of jobs. To the people who lived in cities, only one of many children had the opportunity to get work. The others had to return to rural areas and farm. Compared to the teens of the 1950s, the trouble and difficulties now seem to be easy mode.

Other facets, such as education, medicine, and entertainment are like food and jobs: they are far less advanced than today. In the past 70 years, China has amazing progress thanks to the lack of wars in that period, and people the focused on the economy. 70 years later, if my grandson has the opportunity to answer this question, I hope that he thinks that his life is better.