A company has announced that it wishes to build a large factory near your

community. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this new influence

on your community. Do you support or oppose the factory? Explain your

position.

Building a large factory is a big deal, even for bigger cities. I live in a capital city of Montenegro, Podgorica. It has about 200 thousand citizens and although it is the capital city it is small comparing to other European capitals and building a factory in it, is very welcomed. My country is in transition, it strives for EU integration and since it is one of the poorest countries in Europe every big investment, especially in industry is very important. I’m sure that a new, large factory in my community would be beneficial for people living in that area and wider, but we have to be cautious. I’ll try to give some positive and negative views about this.

First positive thing that will come from having a new factory in the area is new job positions. factories usually need big number of employers from different professions. This is a chance to reduce unemployment and to give people a chance to work. Now formerly unemployed people can raise their living standard and satisfaction of living in our community in general.

Besides new job positions, a factory will surely have a major impact on economy of the whole city and even on the cities in the near. Workers will come from neighborhood cities which mean that the factory affects their economy as well. Also workers who come from other cities will spend part of their salaries in the city of employment, on that way budget of the city and community will increase.

Factories are usually producing goods which are later distributed and sold to customers. If products are of a good quality, and if you have a good trading connection you can sell the products even outside the country. Having trade, business and economy relations with other countries it can attract new investors to the area and maybe opening new factories.

Those are some of the positive examples, but we have to be very careful and serious about negative impacts of having a factory in a community. Mainly, here, I think about environment and nature, plants and animals. Unfortunately we are witnesses of a careless devastation of the nature around us.

So having a new factory can affect community on a different good ways, but we have to be careful and take care of environment that we live in and to prevent any possible nature disasters.