Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the following statement. During our life we pass through different stages of upbringing, maturing on the way to become elders. In all the stages from the youngest period we are under the influence of different people in our lives. those are parents, teachers, professors, coaches, neighbours even our best friends. In modern times there are different mediums through which we can come in contact and under influence of different famous people around us. Entertainers, athletes and others are much closer and have more authority over younger and teens than elders, and there are a few reasons why.

First young people are main users of social networks as facebook, instagram, youtube where they can hear and watch their favorite famous persons. In those videos, pictures, podcasts etc they can hear and see behaviour and opinions of the celebrities. influencers are new kind of people on the internet and their main audience are kids, teens and young people. older people are also users of the internet but they are not main group on the social media.

Second, in their teens, young people are not still completely formed personalities and they are unconsciously in a search for someone who will be their role model, someone who they will be following in they behaviour, habits, way of clothing. Celebrities through TV, internet, magazines and other media are those authority young people are looking for. If we look and see older people as formed personalities we can come to conclusion that they are not under the influence as younger.

Third reason that young people are more under the influence of the opinion of the famous people is that younger people are living faster way of life where information runs faster, they meet each other in school, sports, cafes, clubs, parties, music concerts and other gatherings where they can see celebrities and other people they find important in society and try to imitate. older people live different way of life and are not under impact of all media as younger.

famous people and celebrities can be important factor in upbringing of young people but we have to be very cautious.