If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would

you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

I come from one of the smallest countries in europe, Montenegro. Being smallest country doesn’t have necessary to mean the poorest too, but in my country’s case it is. my hometown is Podgorica, the capital and the biggest city of Montenegro. Although it has rich history my city doesn’t have much to offer to tourists and its citizens. that one thing that I would like to change about my hometown is exactly to improve its touristic offer.

As I said earlier Podgorica is a few centuries old town, with rich history and culture. there live people of different ethnic, religions, habits, customs, and culture. if you imagine my town as a mixture of these differences you may come to conclusion that it is very interesting town, but you will be wrong. I’m sorry that things are this way, but one day as I was surfing the Internet I’ve come to an article that said that Podgorica is the most boring capital city in europe. that finding made me think how a town with that much differences and rich culture can be that boring. Immediately in my head I started to look for a solution.

First thing that came to my mind was to enrich and use what we have, to attract people from other cities and countries and to make the town more interesting for the people who live there every day. During the Second World War, Podgorica was bombed more than seventy times so its entire cultural and historic heritage has been destroyed. things that survived are ruins, but there is something more important and that are stories, legends, interesting facts about the town and its places.

I think that the solution for the existing problem is to build buildings, monuments, to repair and restore ruins, to make historical locations accessible for tourists. if we take stories, legends and historical facts, we can rebuild, reform and transform our touristic offer based on them. Also we can use what we have now, churches, museums, beautiful nature, and sightseeing places to attract people.

I know that my town doesn’t have to bear the title of the most boring capital city in the europe and I know that we can use its potentials. it is time to show people our history and how interesting our town can be!