Consider a situation where you are required to learn a challenging new skill. You could learn this skills from someone above you, like a boss or supervisor. Or you could be taught the skills by someone at your own level, like a classmate or colleague. Which would you prefer?

Learning new skills is always a noteworthy objective for thpse who sign up for a particular occupation, and the question of who to choose as a mentor figure in order for the process of understanding novel concepts in the field as efficiently and effectively as possible has always been a point of debate for workers. In the following essay, I will provide my principal reasons as to why being taught by peers will yield more desirable results due to the fact that communicating with a person of similar level is generally easier and the reality that they possess a more up-to-date understanding of subjects compared to higher-ups whose knowledge may be dated.

At most points in my personal life, I have found it to be much more comfortable and thus more productive to converse with individuals of my age on different subjects, be they school or classmates or colleagues from work. I believe the reason for this can attributed to the fact that people from the same generation, due to the similarities in study environments and challenges, are able to connect more effectively. As a more recent example, my current supervisor at a research lab, who is an older gentleman, simple cannot accept nor teach newer ideas mainly as a result of his upbringing in a traditional and strict household. His background being from an older generation certainly does not help communication and thus I opted to ask for a person who had had more experience but was around my age for help on certain tasks and skills.

Another point to take note of is that while managers and bosses may have higher credentials than those they hire, it is a reality that they are no longer in their prime and are very likely not keeping up with revelations and advancements in their current field, and that they may be more preoccupied with managerial duties. Yet another reason as to why I believed that my supervisor was unfit to teach new skills in my work environment was his relative obliviousness to new research and technological trends, including the very recently popular usage of AI modeling in the field of organic chemistry, which is supposedly my manager’s forte. Bear in mind that none of this is meant to imply that he is inadequate with regards to his academic achievements, but rather to highlight that keeping up with affairs relevant to his field had, at some point, no longer been a priority; making it more reasonable to seek help from a person in a similar position and age.

Ultimately, the generalizations that I have made in this text could very well be due to wrong impressions, but we cannot deny the power of a more youthful and flexible mind, especially when it comes to a workplace. It is for these traits that I believe asking for assistance from them to be more effective in learning new skills. As well, talking to someone coming from a similar generational background is also more comfortable.