Do you agree with the following statement: It is a waste of money for government to fund space travel or space exploration

Some people think that it is a waste of budget for the government to spend on space traveling and space exploration. Others think that the government should allocate more budget to support scientists and astronauts explore the outer space. Personally, I agree with the statement that funding space travel or space exploration is basically a waste of money.

First of all, most governments care about their reputation, and if they disburse too much money on space traveling, they might get an extremely bad image. For instance, three months ago, the CEO of Amazon spent billions of dollars having a vacation on the space. Consequently, many people feel repulsive about his action, because they coincidentally agree that he should have donated this money to the charity instead to contribute to the society. Had he given away the money spend on his space traveling as philanthropy, he could have gained a better reputation. The situation is quite similar for the government. That is to say, if the government spend its budget on practical things rather than space traveling, it can gain a better reputation from the citizens.

In addition, the government focuses on efficiency a lot, and sending astronauts or scientists to conduct space exploration might compromise its efficiency to a great extent. For example, a single trip to the Moon might take two to three years. This means that the government must wait for several years in order to procure the research results from astronauts. Moreover, the government might need to waste a significant amount of time gathering all resources required for space exploration, such as food, oxygen, and water. In other words, planning a trip to the space is extremely time-consuming. Nevertheless, if the government does not issue this proposal, they can have more time to spend on other important works, such as solving the severe traffic jam in the downtown.

Finally, the government should care about citizen’s welfare, and spending too much money on space exploration means that the government must cut budgets on citizen’s welfare. To be more specific, space traveling requires more than a billion dollars, and I believe that most countries do not have that extra money. Accordingly, the government might have no choice but to cut down some expenses on upgrading the basic infrastructure, universal healthcare, college tuition subsidies and so on. If this is the case, citizens might not gain enough money to pay for their medical treatments. Similarly, students may need to spend a great deal of time doing part-time job in order to gain enough money to pay for their tuition. Nonetheless, if the government does not spend this money, citizens can obtain enough welfare to live a normal and happy life.

In conclusion, I maintain that spending money on space exploration is a waste of money, because the most basic duty of a government is to care about citizen’s welfare, working at a high efficiency, as well as maintaining its reputation, not exploring the space.