Do you agree or disagree that children can benefit important ways from keeping animal pets?

People often possess different perspectives on whether children can benefit important ways from keeping animal pets. For me, I totally agree with the statement. The point of view is based on the following reasons.

First of all, it is essential for children to develop a sense of honesty, and keeping animal pets can help them to do so. Take my little brother as an example, he had been in charge of taking care of my dog when I was in a summer camp. However, he had once hung out with his friend and forgotten to feed my dog for a whole day, causing it to get sick. After I came back from the camp, he had immediately told me about his mistake in order to save it with my help. That is to say, he learned about the importance of bravely admitting his fault. On the other hand, if he had not kept a pet, he could not have practically experienced the significance of honesty. Therefore, he can barely build a sense of honesty.

Secondly, it is crucial for children to learn to be independent, and raising animal pets can allow them to become independent. For example, when I was a child, I have become independent since I looked after my dog. To be more concise, it often caused problems to my family such as barking loudly, scratching the sofa, peeing everywhere in my house, and so on. As a result, I had to solve all these troubles on my own, otherwise my parents would forbid me to keep a pet. In addition, when I got older, I had found a part-time job to afford its food by myself. Namely, I learned to deal with things counting on my own, and therefore became independent. On the contrary, without keeping a pet, I still often need others help when I come into trouble. Hense, I will not turn to an independent person as I am now.

Last but not least, it is critical for children to manage their time, and having pets can permit them to learn about time management. For instance, my neighbor’s child, Tim, has scheduled his time very well since he kept a dog. To be more specific, he used to come to play with me until he merely has no time to finish his schoolwork. Nevertheless, when he had a dog, he began to complete everything on time in order to feed his dog and take care of it. Furthermore, he cultivated a habit to arrange all of his assignments and chores in advance. Apparently, he equipped himself with the skill of time management. In contrast, if he had not kept a pet, he would not have had a chance to learn about managing his time. Consequently, he will still procrastinate on all of his works.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with that children can benefit important ways form keeping animal pets. After all, they can acquaint themselves with a sense of honesty, independence, and time management.