Is it necessary for high school students to do household work after school to help build their sense of responsibility?

Should high school kids do housework after school to become more responsible? people adopt different stands toward this issue. Some might contend that doing housework is a waste of time, while others feel that housework is a good opportunity for students to become more mature. As for me, I strongly argue that it is indeed necessary for high school students to do household work to help develop a sense of responsibility.

First of all, to be responsible, high school kids should learn how to manage their time, and doing household work can help them develop good time management skills. For example, when I was in senior high, I had to wash dishes every day. Therefore, I learned how to do my chores quickly to save more time for studying and relaxing. On the other hand, my little brother did not do any housework, so he always struggled to keep his schedule. Furthermore, he often found he couldn’t finish his projects on time.

Secondly, responsible high school students are often independent, and doing household chores can train them to become independent people. For instance, when my sister was a high school kid, she had to cook for herself, and take out the trash. As a result, she knew how to take care of herself. That is , she rarely relied on anyone and she can make her own decisions. On the contrary, since my little brother did not do any housework when he was in high school, he always depends on my mom for allowance. Even today, I still pay his phone bills for him. Apparently, doing household work can allow a kid to cultivate independence.

Finally, high school kids should learn how to lead a team, and doing household chores can help them become better leaders. take my personal experience as an example. when we clean the house together, I have to give orders and see that everyone does his or her own work. my sister is in charge of dusting the floor, while I am responsible for picking up the trash. As a result, when I was in university, I was often elected as leader in group projects. Moreover, statistics show that a lot of students who had been class leaders often were responsible for the main household chores in their families.

In conclusion, it is essential for high school students to do housework to become responsible. after all, in order to be responsible, high schools students should learn how to manage their time, how to take good care of themselves and how to lead, and doing household chores can train them to do so.