Imagine that if a professor wants students to learn as much as possible about a subject in a short period of time, is it better to work in a group or is it better to let students study alone

Professors often possess different perspectives on how to maximize learning about a subject within a short period of time. Some might claim that it is better to let students work in a group, while others feel that it is more helpful for students to study alone. As for me, I strongly contend that it is indeed beneficial for students to work in a group. The point of view is based on the following reasons.

First of all, to acquire the most about a subject in a short period of time, it is necessary for students to learn actively, and group work can help them to do so. Take my classmate, Jason, for example, since he joined in our study group, he has become more energetic on studying. That is, he attempted to learn more about the topic than he usually did in order to discuss with us. Thus, he got a better score than his previous grade on the later exam. On the contrary, when he had studied alone, he was often lazy to learn about anything. Also, he had been usually distracted by his mobile phone. Therefore, his studying was always behind us.

Secondly, to learn as thorough as possible about a topic in a short duration, it is crucial for students to learn efficiently, and work in a group can speed up their learning. To elaborate, all members of our study group usually have questions when we learn new subjects, slowing down our studying. Yet, fortunately, we are able to bring up our own questions for discussion. Then, through other’s advice from various aspects, the problem will be solved quickly. Hence, we can further continue to study. On the other hand, if one study without others helps, he or she will be confused by the same point for a long time. Eventually, he or she will have no progress or even give up studying.

Last but not least, to maximize the comprehension about a subject in a short duration, it is essential for students to manage their time, and study collectively can assist them with well time management. For instance, most study groups set a schedule about when to finish each part of the subject. To be more concise, because of the supervision of each other, each member has to keep the schedule and completes each chapter of the topic on time. Consequently, they can use their time effectively. In contrast, if I study alone, I would feel no pressure about time. then, even if I set a schedule, I have no motivation to stick with it. As a result, I will learn less than I have expected.

In conclusion, I firmly argue that it is better for students to work in a group. After all, to learn as much as possible in a short period of time, students should study in an active and efficient way. In addition, they have to manage their time properly.