Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to cooperate with others is more important today than in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Throughout history, cooperating with others is one of the most important things one can do in daily life. Regarding this issue, some might argue that the ability to cooperate with others is not as necessary today as compared to that in the past. However, I strongly agree with the statement that the ability to cooperate with others is more important nowadays than in the past for two following reasons: the increase of globalized issues and the advancement of technology.

First and foremost, cooperating with others turned into a necessity due to globalized problems. The world has become more globalized than ever before. To be specific, people have encountered worldwide issues, which include pandemics, pollution, and etc. In order to come up with a successful solution for such crises, every country along with individuals have cooperated with others.This naturally resulted in the improvement of individuals’ social lives and the prosperity of nations. For instance, I once read a news article about how nations made efforts to cooperate with others by providing poor countries with Covid-19 vaccines. By this process, not in their own countries but they could also globally get rid of the virus. As these kinds of teamwork to pandemics are proven to be an effective solution, cooperation with others is clearly more significant today than in the past on a global and individual level.

Additionally, as new technologies have been introduced individuals’ modern lives have been becoming more complicated. People have been adapting to the rapidly changing world and they discovered that cooperating with others makes this adaptation easier. Eventually, as people become more dependent on each other, the ability to cooperate also becomes more significant than in the past. In an observational study held in 1998, the researchers compared two companies: one which had lots of partnership with other businesses, and the other which didn’t. Twenty years later, in 2018, the average annual growth rate of the former company was 48% higher than the latter. This definitely indicates that as technology advances, cooperation with others is more significant today than in the past,

Admittedly, some could argue that the ability to cooperate was more important in the past since individuals could not survive in the wild unless they were in groups. However, because of the increase of globalized issues and the advancement of technology, I strongly agree with the statement that the importance of one’s ability to cooperate with others has increased.