Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the beginning of civilization, humans' relationships have been considered as an essential factor in their lives. Nowadays, there is a controversial debate that is it better to keep old friendships or having the ability to make new friends. I personally contend that the ability to make new friends is far important rather than keep friendships with a small number of people. I will elaborate on my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the most important facet in this regard is geographic and time limitation. To be frank, these days, immigration and going abroad are very popular among individuals by the purpose of education, work, or relaxing. In this regard, some of us may lose our friends physically and have no access to see or even talk to them regularly as a matter of time or geographic constraints. As a case in point, I had four close friends that they immigrated to other countries one after another and I became lonely. I began to make new relationships to cover my lack of friends and soon I found a bunch of friends around me. If I had not had the ability to make new friends easily, I would have been lonely and sad these days. Hence, in our today's hectic life is far vital to have the ability to build relations readily.

Secondly, another important issue is the changing of situations. To be frank, lots of our relations occur around our needs such as emotional, work-related, and other fields. Besides, it is well-established that our situations vary over our life stage by stage. To be more detailed, imagine your life from your birth until now. You have experienced lots of situations and each situation you have some specific individuals around yourself. For instance, before school, you had friends in your neighborhood for playing together, in school you had some close friends to hang out and study in groups that you perhaps left them behind when you entered to the university or your job. I mean you lost that potent strings with them and replaced new people in your life. Thus, you should have the ability to make new friends to provide yourself appropriate friends in different conditions and situation and perhaps having an old friend from school cannot help you cope with your work-related problems.

To make a long story short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the ability to make new friends is a pivotal aspect of our life and it is prior to maintaining old small communities. I highly recommend everyone to improve their social skills to make new and effective relationships.