Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take a public speaking course

Success is the eternal theme to everyone; thus how to utilize the precious university time for future and success has been attached much concern to. As for the course setting, some people state that all university students should be required to take a public speaking course. In my point of view, I advocate that public speaking course is not the best choice for every student in terms of different characteristics and future pursuits.

Firstly, speaking skill is not necessary and essential for every occupation. We have to admit that only a small portion of occupations in the world require speaking skills, such as business leaders. By comprehending public speaking skill, the leader could convince the partner in an easy way when they are signing a contract; and employees' working enthusiasm and loyalty would be aroused during the stuff meetings. However, not every student is willing to be a businessman. Thus, spending time attending speaking course will be proved a waste of time. For example, I once talked with a relative who majored in computer science. After graduation, he found a job in an IT company and his major task at that time was coding computer programs. Every day he spent about 10 hours sitting in front of the computer and seldom talk with other colleagues, let alone making a public speaking in public. Thus, it is totally a waste of time for him and other students who major in similar areas to devote time and energy to take a public speaking course. Students should use this time to choose course which they are interested in the most.

Secondly, students may not gain excellent speaking skill after attending the class. It is known to us that different people have different characteristics. Some outgoing students can join the discussion easily and give a presentation in a vivid style. By attending the course, they are more likely to grasp opportunities to go to the stage and display their talents; thus, they will gain more pleasure and confidence in the class. However, there are also a lot of introverted students who are too shy to express themselves in the stage. What's worse, the class examination may also pose huge pressure on their mental health. If they could handle this problem well, they may conquer their shyness. If they fail, they may trap into serious mental illness, which will damage their academic performance. Take my study program for instance. Considering different people's characteristics, our lecturer assigned different tasks to different students. Some extroverted students were asked to attend presentations class while some introverted students were asked to attend data statistics and analysis class. After attending the classes, students would work for a marketing research. It is never an overstatement that the proper division of work contributed to the final success a lot. Thus, it is advisable for different students to take customized course; thus their contribution and advantages could be magnified.

Admittedly, attending a speaking course is beneficial both in academic performance and in character build-up. However, we should take the current situation as well as students' different characteristics into consideration. Only making customorized course setting could ensure that every student acquires knowledge happily and successfully.