Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of a country other than their own.

Undoubtedly, culture is one of the predominant aspects of people's lives. In this respect, while some believe universities should force students to be familiar with other cultures, some stand on the other side of the continuum, holding an opinion that it is not necessary to know foreign cultures. It is my firm opinion that being familiar with foreign people's beliefs has several benefits that can be considered. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoints are elaborated in the subsequent paragraphs.

First, being familiar with other cultures can help individuals to be successful in the future. It is essential for universities to make sure students can find proper careers after graduation. Being acquainted with other cultures can increase the chance of people to find appropriate jobs. I have to admit my personal experience is profoundly influenced my judgment on this matter. Ten years ago, I had a course in college about Russia and its culture. At first sight, it seemed a boring class without any benefit and unrelated to my major field, which was electrical engineering. However, when I graduated from college, I found a job at a new nuclear power plant requiring daily relations with Russians. Had it not been because of being familiar with Russian culture, I would not have been able to communicate properly with them.

Another reason that springs to mind is the effect of other culture on one's personality. In other words, when people know different cultures and beliefs, they can obtain the suitable features of every culture and be more mature. My personal experience in college as a student is a compelling example of this. I studied in an international university with several students from different countries. One of my closest friends was Indian, and in their culture, saying lies was extremely forbidden. Another friend of mine in the college was from Japan, and he was a hard-working person that valued his time. As a result, I became an honest person who could put a lot of effort into achieving his goals. Therefore, I believe being familiar with other cultures can have a tremendous impact on one's disposition.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that universities can add courses to student's curriculum about other cultures. I believe the attitude they get from these courses can increase their social communication to find proper jobs after graduation and also can have an incredible influence on their personality.