Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should

take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study.

courses should be taken by students in each field has always been a controversial issue among education experts. While some people believe that students should only take courses related their field, there are others holding the view that basic science could be useful for all branches. As far as I am concerned, students could be much expert if they have ability on basic science beside related courses. I will vindicate my standpoint hereunder.

The first point that juts out of the mind is the fact that basic sciences are necessary for all kind of sciences. you cannot understand Static course in Civil Engineering, if you have not a view in physics. An example can illustrate this. Imagine when you are doing a structural analysis for a building, you must have an understanding of mathematics and physics, otherwise you are not able to solve your problem. this indicates that, courses of specialty fields are based on basic course and you cannot learn these courses without a view to basic sciences.

The Second point that is worth considering is the fact that, teachers could not teach all kind of problems in a special fields, thus students should have ability to understand new problem, that they may be faced in real world, and they must have solutions for them. this is not possible unless you have a deep understanding of your field. An example of my own experiences can give some light to this issue. In my field, we always apply astronomical coordinate systems, if we have to convert these coordinate systems to each other, we must know about rotation matrixes, that student known that from mathematics. Consequently, students need some tools in their hands to solve new problem at work. these tools, that could be useful, are basic science knowledge.

To make a long story short, students going to study a specific field to be expert in that branch. But in this way they need some other tools, if they want to be a professional person. we discuss some benefits of basic science courses her. specialty courses are based on basic courses and students can increase their ability in work with basic courses. these all shows that a part of courses that students are learning should relate to basic sciences.