Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Attending their classes should be optional for university students. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Schools have changed a lot over the past few decades, and some of them are experimenting with new ideas about classroom attendance. Personally, I believe that it is still extremely important for students to be present for all of their classes. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, attending classes gives students opportunities to develop useful skills by participating in discussions and debates. Most university students are very opinionated, so they often engage in very lively discussions. Consequently, by actually going to their classes, students can develop public speaking skills and the ability to win people over. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman I took an introductory political science seminar. The professor began each session by distributing an article about a controversial social issue. In addition, one student was selected to argue in favor of their position on the issue, and respond to questions from the rest of the class. After doing this for one year I became an extremely confident public speaker. These days I work in a fast-paced corporate environment, where I feel no anxiety when negotiating with new clients or when I have to convince them to accept a new contract. If I had not attended the aforementioned class I would not be thriving in my current career.

Secondly, university classrooms provide chances to network with like-minded individuals we can work with later on. The unemployment rate has been quite high for most of the past decade, and as a result it is very difficult for even well-educated people to find jobs. However, many experts argue that the people we meet at university play a major role in our long-term professional success. For instance, my brother recently established a lucrative online business which has provided him with a substantial income. He co-founded the firm in a partnership with two like-minded peers that he met in a computer science class during his senior year. He is very proud of the degree he earned at school, but feels the deep connection which he formed with his classmates has been even more valuable. In my opinion, had he not attended that class he would not have had enough support to launch his own company.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that it is very beneficial for students to attend all of their classes. This is because it helps them to perfect their communication skills, and because it gives them opportunities to connect with possible business partners.