Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should only play sports for fun, not in competitions or contests.

In the contemporary world, we have faced an exponential growth on the ways parents employ to bring up their children. There is no shortage of debate on the fact that children need to have physical activities during their daily life. Some adhere to the idea that children should only play sports for fun. Others subscribe to the viewpoint that children should play sports and take parts in competitions. Personally, I concur with the second notion; in what follows, two grounds will substantiate my viewpoint.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that children need physical activities to have better health condition. In addition, today's children have a thirst for progress due to their desire for glory and their formed mindset. So, it is literally inevitable for young ones to face the competitions. When scholars scrutinized the life style of different people from various countries through and through and compared their opinions about the ways of behaving toward children, they realized the fact that most of parents prefer that their children get involved in matches. In this regard, being in competitions can be a chance to unearth the latent talents of children and nurture them. Take a personal experience as an example; back in the first year of school, I was an energetic boy with an insatiable thirst to achieve goals in the field of football, yet the way our teacher treated us didn't satisfy me. So, I enrolled in a football gym and I pursued the implementation of theories that had been taught to become a member of the team. Not only did I improve my physical skills, but also, I learned to prove myself to others. In other words, it was a great chance for me as a person who wanted to boost his self-confidence. After some weeks of training, when I started the competition, all the aforementioned skills that I had achieved came into the picture and I won the match with all dexterity of an experienced athlete. Had I not attended to the importance of competition, I would not have been able to improve my athlete/athletic skills.

The second reason coming to my mind is that being in the competitive atmosphere is a great chance for one to improve his interpersonal skills. Getting involved in such an atmosphere, children learn to respect others and become receptive to others’ ideas. The more children spend time in competitive matches, the more seeds of having sociable people in the future are sown. Being open-minded becomes second nature to them. Participation in such matches teaches children that facing failures is the prerequisite of further success. Personally, I believe being an athlete competitions is the crucial prerequisite for young people to lead a vigorous life. If one is not able to find the ways of progress through being in matches, one is not able to run/live either an energetic or productive life. Consequently, one is not able to derive satisfaction from life. Relevant studies in Japan underscores the fact that there is a direct link between being in competition sports and future success of a student. This can be attributed to the fact that being in matches paves the way for a child to improve his performance and enrich his resume. In this respect, children in the competitions have the chance to communicate their beliefs efficiently and such interactions give some first-hand experiences to them.

To make the long story short, all the aforementioned grounds lead us to the conclusion that the idea that children should take part in athlete competition leads to more results for them than that of playing sports only for fun. There are more examples and reasons to discuss. However, it might cause some disadvantages too. My firm conviction is that being in restrictions and hardships, is a good opportunity for children to become disciplined and responsible.