Your friend is going to reduce the living expenses. Which of the following way would you

recommend to your friend and why?

1. Find a roommate that can share the living expenses.

2. Buy the new technology products less frequently.

3. Shop for less expensive food to cook at home.

Commonly, students with meagre pocket money seek measures to reduce their living expenses. Some people prefer to find a roomate to share living expenses, some would like to shop for cheaper food to cook. In my opinion, I believe the most effective way is to find a roomate to buy new electronic products less frequently. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following esssay.

For starters, we do not necessarily need so many electronic products to meet our primary needs. Understandably, students require laptops to take notes in classes and complete essays for graduation. However, the functions of some electronic products might overlap with each other. If someone insist on keeping pace with the trend, he will regret buying plenty of useless products. My own experience is a compelling model of that. My parents bought me a Macbook Air when I entered the university. Shortly after that, Apple company released the latest iPad. Shocked at its fascinating appearance and exciting advertisements, I used my pocket money to buy the expensive iPad Air as soon as it went to the market. However, I later found that the Macbook could perfectly satisfy my demands for studying and entertainment. Worsely, my schoolbag lacked a commodious space to accommodate a Macbook and an iPad Air at the same time. Therefore, I seldom carried the iPad with me and sold it at half of the original price 3 months later. This example shows that buying electronic products without considering other factors thoroughly is insensible.

Besides, technology products are generally expensive. If we control our desire to buy them, we can save large amounts of money and use it to do more meaningful things. For example, many people would like to buy superior acoustic equipment so that they can appreciate fantastic movies at home. However, if they go to the cinema every week instead of buying the equipment, the price of tickets will not go beyong that of the equipment. Additionally, they can also enjoy the splendid sound effect in professional theatres. Another example is about the restaurant. It cost no more than 200yuan to have some delicious dishes in a restaurant near in university. In contrast, the price of an iPhone may be over 5000yuan, 25 times of the meal price. In a word, we can cover our living expenses more easily when cutting down the expense on electronic products.

Admittedly, other measures are also worth trying to reduce the living expenses. However, they may harm the quality of our life. For instance, we may have to adjust to disparate living habit of the roomate, with whom we would like to share the rental fee. Also, cheaper food like fried chicken and chipd may not benefit our health as expensive, organic food does. In conclusion, buying fewer electronic products can save our living expenses at a minimum cost of our living quality.