It is important to make sure that others(influential people or potential employers know)about your strengths and accomplishments; if not, you will be never successful in life.

Commonly, people struggle for promotions and good scores in school and work to be successful in life. Some people believe that it is significant to make leaders know their strengths and achievements to realize their goals. In my opinion, I agree with this statement. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, potential employers will give me more precious opportunities if they understand my advantages and accomplishments, which can lead me to success. By contrast, they are likely to assign frivolous and dirty work to me if they underestimate my capability. The experience of my friend, Jack, is a compelling model of that. He participated in a project last year. Although he was only a bachelor, he had published large amounts of articles on professional journals before. In case of being neglected, he showed his academic achievements to his mentor a week before he joined that project. Therefore, the mentor appreciated his diligence and enthusiasm, designating him as the leader of one group. If he had not show his accomplishments, he would have missed this opportunity and done some repeated work instead.

Besides, influential people may offer me some useful advice after having a deep understand of my strengths and accomplishments. Since they obtain an edge on experience and professional knowledge over ordinary people, their advice may help me avoid many obstacles and pitfalls. For example, I used to consult my mentor on my future career because I did not know what to do after graduation. I showed him my resume, on which I listed my advantages and awards I won in school. After reviewing that resume, he told me that it was more appropriate for me to be a lawyer than to be a justice or a legal journalist because my experience as an intern in Moot Courts and a legal journal was related with what employers in law firms most required. Under his suggestions, I successfully passed an interview of a elite law firm and earn a decent salary now. My advantages became solid competitive edges in work. This example shows that influential people can provide sensible suggestions to help you move from school to work without much trouble.

I admit that showing advantages to others cannot manage the problem alone on the way to success. Working hard matters more. However, if we ignore letting others know our accomplishments, they will not recognize our abilities. Only by combining showing strengths and hard work together can we achieve our goals.

Based on the reasons stated above, I assume showing your strengths and accomplishments to influential people is helpful because it can get me exposed to opportunities and valuable advice.