Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, governments have to pay more attention about using their budget in support of the art activity. A controversial question, which is often raised in regard is that many people consider that government have to sponsor more in the athletics. While some people are inclined towards this idea that arts provides citizen more opportunities to understand different aspect of culture, others, on the other hand, are against the point of view. As far as I am concerned, my own opinion is that government requires to put more effort on the athletic. In the following essay, I will delve into reasons and examples supporting my viewpoints.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind it that governments care about their reputation, as a result, building a strong teams can help them do it. Take my country as an example. My country cultivates many well-known athletics. Therefore, when these athletics have good performance, it gives our country an opportunity to show our reputation and share the honor with them.

The second elaborated reason to be mentioned is that governments wish to increase citizen health, and sponsor more in athletics encourage citizen do more exercise. For instance, nowadays, many people are lack of exercising because of busy working. However, governments put more budget in supporting athletics raise their willingness to do exercise such as constructing a public gym.

Last but not least, the third compelling reason from my viewpoint is that governments wish to increase their income, and supporting athletics assist them to make this target. Holding global competition will bring considerable income for governments. For example, my living city, which is a small city, is difficient of budget. However, once a year, a worldwide event held in my hometown caused the government earn a huge amount of money after the event.

In the conclusion, from what has been discussed above, it is crystal clear that governments should pay more effort on athletics since governments care about their reputation, wish to increase citizen’s health, and increase state's income.