Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the distant past, with the intention of achieving the best outcomes, governments all around the world have been looking for the most appropriate fields to spend their budget. In this regard, although some people advocate budgeting arts, many individuals hold the view that it is an essential task for governments to financially support athletes and Olympic teams. I am personally inclined to believe that the former approach pales in comparison to the latter. I cling to this viewpoint for two main reasons and will shed light upon in the following.

To begin with, if governments spend money on athletics, a larger number of individuals within the target society will benefit from this decision due to the fact that more people are interested in sports and Olympic teams than arts. To be more specific, it is undeniable that sports and athletics are highly widespread means of entertainment among people around the globe. However, passion in arts and artistic movements is merely limited to a small fraction of individuals who entirely understand the far-reaching concepts of art. In fact, arts are in most cases truly complicated, thus leaving ones in sheer confusion. For example, take the complex paintings by Leonardo Davinci. Without any shadows of doubt, barely are ordinary individuals, who consist the major part of almost any society, able to appreciate the profound notions underlying these feats. On the other hand, regardless of their nationality, sports are easily understood and interpreted by most of the people, making special tournaments such as Olympics extremely popular events. Accordingly, supporting athletics takes precedence over supporting arts because it will cover the interests of a larger group of people in a society.

Aside from this, supporting athletics and Olympic teams will indeed result in a healthier society. To put this in a more vivid picture, if governments spend money on the improvement of these scopes, it will lead to national and global success in sports events. As a result, people will be encouraged to bring more exercise and physical activity into their lives. This stems from their interest in pursuing the success of their favorite teams and their widespread attachment to sports. The result of this would be more active and healthier societies. An example of my own country drives this concept home. During the past few years, the government of my country has outstandingly supported our national Volleyball team. Consequently, they have achieved brilliant results in recent tournaments. Surprisingly, since their very first global success, the people's interest in this particular sport has increased significantly. Prior to that time, rarely was it possible for us to see individuals playing Volleyball professionally in parks and open space. However, today, it has become a quite widespread activity among youth. Wherever I go, from streets to green spaces, I have a good chance of seeing a large number of people playing Volleyball. This is indeed the direct impact of those global achievements. If the same strategy is applied to other sports fields, more people will be encouraged to spend their time playing sports and our societies will become healthier.

In conclusion, bearing the foregoing points and examples in mind, I firmly believe that governments should spend their money on athletics and Olympic teams rather than arts. This is not only because such a decision will positively address the interests of a larger number of people in any society, but it will encourage individuals to engage in physical activities and playing sports which in turn will contribute to the emergence of a healthier society.