Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Being versatile in skills and knowledge is always the boon for people. Some people may believe that having broad knowledge on various academic subject is better than to specialize on only one subject, while others may think that specializing at only one subjects is far more better. In my personal opinion, I contends that having broad knowledge on wide academic subjects is more advantageous. I feel this way for two reason which I would examine in this essay.

First of all, having broad knowledge will make you open to many opportunities, especially open to many job sectors. As, if you have knowledge on the more academic subject than you can have many options, if got rejected on one subject field can apply to another subject field of ones knowledge. Additionally, the knowledge of one subject field can corroborate the another subject and combinely can make you better than other people for job position. For example: There was a friend of mine who was major but average in knowledge of civil engineering. But additionally he had good knowledge of the computer, data science and extension. So, these additional skills make him far more better than other who were specialize on civil engineering only. Conclusively, He got more hold on that job than other specialized one. Had he not have those additional skill, he would not have been guaranteed for the job.

Secondly, Having broad knowledge makes your life more interesting and got free from the boredom in life. The people who are specialized in one field have to bound with the single job through out their life. Such monotonous life can make you feel completely bore and deprived from excitement. If a person would have broad academic knowledge than he can frequently change the job as per time and as per his wish. This can make the excitement continued throughout the life as you need not have to engage on single job. This can be demonstrated through my personal experience. There was my friend who had knowledge of photography, data science, along with his major in Zoology. So, at beginning of his career he started as a lecturer of zoology, later, when he got bored used his photography skills and become a animal photographer. And now when the era of the data science has prevailed, he is doing job as data scientist and working on data of extincting animals. These skills of him made him to do the job that he would enjoy thorough out his life. It was obvious that if he do not have his additional skill he would have ended his life as only lecturer.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the broad academic knowledge is always superior over single specialized one. This is because having broad knowledge not only assure you with a particular job but also makes your life full of excitement. Further it will provide you to gain experience on different field and makes you a perfectionist.