Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

University education plays an important role in our lives. It is the place where we gain knowledge and life skills which will make us to excel and enhance in our lives. Some people prefer to choose many academic subjects rather than specializing in one specific subject and others oppose it. In my opinion, it is better to choose many academic subjects. I feel this way for two important reasons which i will explain in the following paragraphs of the essay.

To begin with, enrolling in many subjects can broaden our knowledge. When we stick to one major we can be profound in that subject but it restricts other skills which can be useful in our lives. My personal example is a compelling example of this. Few years ago, when i went to pursue my under-graduation in JNTU university, i was given the chance to choose specialize in one specific subject or many academic subjects which were featured in the university. I chose specializing in many academic subjects. There, House wiring was one of my choices among many academic subjects which came handy for me later. After my graduation, I got my job in Delhi, the capital city of India, which is new to me and had none of my friends and relatives. I rented an apartment which is at outskirts of the city because it's cheaper to live there. As i had moved to new place, I had to assemble lights and fans into the sockets and there is no electrician available near my location since I live at outskirts. Then, the skills i learnt in house wiring classes helped to fix fans, lights on my own without help from others or paying money to any electrician. Moreover, I made two way switch connections and made my life much better.

Further, We can find our true love when we choose many academic subjects. What I mean is that, we can find our real interest in one among the many subjects chosen. For instance, though I choose many academic subjects my major is Computer science. During my under-graduation, I found my real love in literature and wanted to pursue my career. Unfortunately, due to my financial position i had to take up job right after graduation. After few years of work as an Analyst in an IT firm, i achieved my financial stability. Then i left my job, and worked hard on literature to pursue my career in this field. My father honestly criticized my initial writings and made me recognize my weak spots. Then i learnt from past experiences and worked hard on them not to repeat again and enhanced my writing skills. Now i am a renowned author in my mother language,Telugu.

In conclusion, i feel it's better to have broader knowledge in many subjects rather than sticking to one specific subject. Not only does it broadens our knowledge but also leads us to find our true love.