Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is better to read books on an electronic device than it is to read traditional books on paper.”

I strongly agree with the viewpoint that electronic version of books is much more rewarding than the orthodox methods of consuming text and accompanying photographs on paper.

Some might say that the conventional medium is easier on the eye and makes the experience of reading much more thorough and immersive. However, I believe that the new wave of e-books is a win-win for all stakeholders. I would justify my position through the following set of two reasons.

Firstly , electronic books and devices are environmental friendly. Almost, no trees are usurped for production of millions of thousands of e-books and e-book readers. Juxtapose this with the number of football fields required to stack up all the paper required for printing one of the many parts of Harry potter fiction series for circulation around the world. Had it not been for these virtual friends we would have lost million of trees to service the desire for knowledge of an ever-increasing global population.

Secondly , the devices that are powered to carry large virtual libraries are far more utilitarian . These devices are constructed to enhance our reading experience by a few notches at the least. This is made possible by a super tractable design, a glare free screen and a variety of other features that includes definition lookup for words as well as text highlight among many others. In contrast, paper books look archaic and cumbrous when evaluated against parameters of utility. Indeed, a world with these antiquated forms of print can best be recalled through conjuring up a scenario where a student is toting heavy textbooks while trying to make it in time for the lecture. Without a question, these e-books have revolutionised our reading experience by bringing more value to them and by dispensing with the heaviness inherent in the traditional ones.

All in all, the argument that e-books have proven to be more valuable than traditional one is a complicated one. With the naysayers citing the allure of physical copies to bolster their standpoint. Nevertheless, I strongly contend that this new form of consuming print is markedly superior to the one which it is going to replace in years to come.