Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Drivers have to pay a fee for driving in busy city streets when there is a great amount of traffic. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Nowadays, traffic congestion has made our lives more difficult, especially in big cities during rush hours. In my opinion, I believe it is vitally necessary that governments do solve the road congestion issue by requiring the fees of automobile drivers during heavy-traffic times. I feel that way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, this policy will save lives and money. To be more specific, road congestion leads to car crashes that kill innocents and cause people to lose their expensive vehicles. For example, I live in Cairo, Egypt, the most populous metropolitan city in the Arab World. We do live a stressful life due to roadway crowdedness by cars in downtowns and big squares. According to statistical numbers, Cairo holds the highest rate of road accidents in the region due to car crashes, which put human lives and cars in danger during commuting. Therefore, if our authorities impose fees on drivers, who use main streets during crowding hours, they will compel to use different roads away from traffic jam areas. In anticipation of implanting this policy, we can expect an enormous reduction in car accidents. As you can see, Cairo residents, like millions of others, in emergency need of that policy for the sake of their lives and money; otherwise, there would not be any improvement in car crashes accidents.

Secondly, another remarkably potential reason for advocating fees plan is the higher likelihood of generating revenue, which can be used by governments to solve traffic issues once and for all. To illustrate, through fees money, governments can subsidize road infrastructure, constructing new bridges, and maintains public transportations in excellent status. For example, in my country Egypt, my government commands extra cost for using highways between big cities such as the coastal roads. Obviously, from the admirable current condition of that road, it exploits the fees money to keep it that way. So, the government may follow the same path inside busy cities to invest in traffic projects and put an end to problems associated with it.

In conclusion, I undoubtedly opt for the strategy of charging drivers inside the heavy traffic areas. Not only because it will make people feel secured regarding their lives and money, but also its funds will contribute to the betterment of traffic crowding issues.