Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of the facts that we know today are based on particular ideas and concepts explored by the experts. Consider the simple fact that "Sun rises in the east and sets in the west" is derived by studying about the rotation theory of the Earth. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement and further provide two reasons in support of the position I take.

To begin with, the ideas and the concepts are crucial for developing intelligence in any human being. Individuals are more likely to succeed if they know the rudiments behind the working of a general theory. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About ten years ago, when I was studying a mathematics course in my high school, the professor stated a fact that the volume of a spherical object is given by a particular formula. However, the professor did not much focus on the derivation of that formula as he wanted to complete the course as soon as possible. As a result, I was curious on exploring how the experts came up with the formula. Consequently, I watched lectures and referred to a Wikipedia article on the same. To my surprise, a question was asked in my final examination which involved knowledge of the assumptions that goes behind deriving the formula. I was able to ace the test and ended up scoring the highest because I focused on the ideas and the concepts instead of just memorizing the facts.

Secondly, a good comprehension of the ideas and the concepts can help you in securing your dream job. The person interviewing you wants to find out whether you have taken assiduous efforts to understand the topics or just memorized them. For instance, when my brother was interviewing at Amazon about two years ago, he was asked in great detail about the concepts of data structures and computer algorithms. Being a brilliant student, he cracked the interview with ease. As a result, he was offered the position of a software developer at Amazon. In no time, he was promoted to the Senior tech lead because of his profound knowledge of the core concepts and his abilities to question and reason everything. This example illustrates that knowledge of concepts is critical to succeed in the real life.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is pivotal to comprehend ideas and concepts rather than just learn the facts. I feel this way because it helps us develop intelligence and also helps us in cracking our dream jobs.