A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A student's overall education and development is an essential responsibility of a nation because after all the students are the ones to shape and mould the future of the nation. The prompt suggests that a same national curriculum must be followed by the all the students before entering a college, where they can further choose a topic of their interest. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement and explain my reasoning wiuth the position taken by stating three important factors.

To begin with, every student must be well versed with the rudiments and fundamentals of core subjects. These subjects support a student in building a solid and a stout base or foundation on which his further education rests. It is imperative for every student to learn the basics of mathematics, social studies, literature before he or she can commence to work on more sophisticated and advanced technology. For instance, a student pursuing an engineering degree in computer science technology must have a strong knowledge about the mathematics behind the working of a computer. This would reinforce his or her further comprehension on the subject and would be able to proceed with an uncanny speed in his respective field.

Moreover, following a same curriculum helps ensure that all the students start from the same level of knowledge. This is important to make sure that a fair evaluation of the students is performed.

In addition, the nation must introduce eclectic and diverse topics in the followed curriculum, so that the student can find out and further explore the subject in which he or she is genuinely interested in contributing. The students based on the evaluations can be certain about which topics captivate them and further accomodate them in chosing their college major. For example, if a student does extraordinarily well in mathematics and considerably well in literature and other subjects, he or she would be certain to pursue a major in engineering mathematics or related subjects.

Although some critics might argue that a student must be allowed to pick a curriculum solely based on their interests. However, with the exception of child prodigies, a majority of the students have no clue about their interests at a very young age and therefore defer this decision until they receive final assessments of their school examinations. In conclusion, a student therefore must be encourage to only pursue their interests after completing their school curriculum.