Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

The academic performance of a student does play a crucial factor in deciding the type of career he or she wants to pursue as well as the type of job one chooses. The prompt recommends that the teachers’ incomes be contingent on the academic performance of their students. However, in my opinion, I strongly disagree with this suggestion and argue that teachers’ salaries be based on their efforts rather than the academic performance of the students for three major reasons.

To begin, the majority of students are mischievous and adamant in nature and simply refuse to agree to their teachers’ instructions. In other words, they don’t listen to the teacher unless they find a viable reason to agree upon. For instance, most of the students have a tendency to waste their time on certain activities (passing comments or using cell phones), especially during the lectures. This degrades their performance on the class tests and evaluations. Teachers cannot be completely blamed for all this. Although, it is believed that it is afterall a teachers responsibility to look after the students, but is it honestly feasible for one single individual to look after hundreds of students?

Secondly, students have to choose optional subjects in their major, although they are offered freedom to select one from the available pool of subjects, the choice is still qualified. For example, it may happen that brilliant students opt for highly difficult subjects and the rest may have no choice but take up subjects which are not so easy. In the latter case, even after the teachers’ efforts, if the students end up performing poorly, is it the teachers to be blamed or the administration or the students?

Further, there are numerous courses that students fail to understand because of the sole reason that they have no interest in pursuing the course but are compelled to complete by the administration. Consider the students majoring in computer science who are forced to take up a course on economics or finance. Students with a dearth of interest in the subject would simply invest their time doing something they love and end up screwing the test. Therefore, it is imperative to understand that even after assiduous efforts the teachers and students may end up performing poorly.

In addition, even if we ignore the aforementioned reasons, the performance of a student is strongly reflected by the parallel performance of their advisor. However, a teachers salary should not be solely based on the performance of their students, their honest and arduous efforts along with their dedication to teach should also be considered. Ultimately teachers are the one that shapes the future of students.