Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, people's working schedules were not fixed and were subject to the employers' requirements. With the development of protection on labors, majority of people working nowadays are on a five-day basis with the weekend for rest. Some people believe that working five days a week actually is less pleasant compared to working three days a week with relatively longer working hours. In my point of view, I agree with the opinion and I believe that working three days offer more spare time even though the total working hours are the same.

Surely, some people might hold the view that a five-day working shedule is more beneficial to health. If we consider a standard working shedule of 8 hours per day, the total number of working hours would be 40 hours per week which is around 13.3 hours dividened into 3 days. Indeed, 13.3 hours are considered pretty laborous for most people, which means the time can almost only be allocated for working, eating, and sleeping - these essential daily activities without other recreations. For example, a typical worker in a semiconductor industry working on a two-shift rotating basis. The working time per day is around 12.5 hours per day due to 30 minutes are used for passdown meetings. Plus 2 hours for eating, 8 hours for lunch and 2 hours for transportation, that already exceeds 24 hours. Therefore, it is really arduous if working only three days.

However, working three days a week actually allows workers to rest well. Working three days equals to resting four days. If workers would like to take a rest during off days, four days are really a good choice to plan for relaxing at home or traveling outside. As we know, weekend is usually crowded at many sites such as shopping centers, parks, movie theaters, etc. Therefore, the time used in weekend for recreation is actually less efficient. In contrast, a four-day rest cover two more days in weekdays in addition to weekends, and these two days could be spent for those acitivites at the places that are usually more occupied during weekends. Thus, not only does a four-day rest provide longer period for rest, but it is also more efficient in terms of utilization of time.

In addition, the off-days can also be utilized for other personal activities such as reading, study, etc. If the four-day rest is too long for the worker, let's say, and he or she think the time should be used for other purposes, it fits pretty well because extra time could be allocated for study or gathering with friends besides those time used for rest.

To sum up, even though working three days are more though with less spare time during working days, it actually can be compensated back with the longer off days. With four days to rest, the workers could use them for restoring the energy back or for other personal purpose if they think they already feel a sense of relief.