Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

It is undeniable that to provide sufficient food, human beings are consuming environmental resources in destructing volumes, like using harmful pesticides to increase the yield or constantly constructing irrigation systems. Some individuals advocate that it is necessary to develop agriculture at the expense of the environment, since eliminating hunger is the primary contributor to a better life. Reasonable as it sounds, it is all but certain to me that the environment is also imperative and we should always put the environment in the first place.

To begin with, the sustainable development of the environment is the premise of agriculture advancement. Without a healthy ecosystem, modern agriculture is doomed to fail on account of lacking sufficient resources. For instance, the overuse of harmful pesticides has already turned plenty of fertile fields into barren soil, causing the distinction of many animal species used to living there. What’s more, there comes more consequences, the quality of cultivated land has been destroyed leading to the dramatic decline of crop yield. Within a few years, the place which used to be covered by shinning green plants will become a barren saline-alkali land suffering from deterioration. Thus, the dream of boosting the boom of agriculture will never come true and global starvation remains to be a problem that humans cannot tackle with.

Secondly, the protection of the environment will bring tremendous benefits which will help solve global hunger. In other words, the prosperity and development of agriculture and the environment can be simultaneous, which means there is no need to sacrifice any one of them. There are many innovative eco-friendly agricultural programs, like the plantation of organic food and the cutting-edge irrigation system, which succeeded in maximizing the crops yield and minimizing environmental harm. Besides, instead of overusing harmful chemicals, people are now prone to invent novel chemicals posing no threat to ecosystems. The government has also been paying attention to the novel agriculture techniques, encouraging farmers raising domestic animals following nature. Therefore, we can easily conclude that the promoting of a sustainable environment will exert positive influences on modern agriculture.

Admittedly, we contend that global starvation has been an urgent issue of all time. The government has been sparing no effort to come up possible solutions. It is very hard for the leaders of the country to balance between environment and modern agriculture. Nevertheless, as I demonstrated above, the environment is an essential ingredient making up of the earth and we should never disregard it.

To sum up, it is time we protect the environment without any hesitation. Make ways to balance the profits between the environment and agriculture is the smartest choice.