TPO 34 Independent Writing TaskDo you agree or disagree with the following statement Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone online games and social networking Web site Us

Together with the improvements in society, it seems evident that teaching children have been a tough job nowadays compared to the past. Thus, the question has been raised whether technological gadgets are the ones to be blamed or not. While it is undeniable that both arguments have their own merits to boast; if forced to choose one over another, my resolute standpoint is definitely in line with technology not to be blamed. I will explain the reasons in the following essay.

To begin with, smartphones or tablets help students to collect a variety of information through online portal sites such as Google, Wikipedia, and Yahoo. In other words, the child can search online for any facts that they do not know which helps them to broaden their horizon. I assume that a personal example can shed light on this notion. When I was in Year 4, I always used my iPhone to search for the answers about my History assignment and by doing so, I was able to understand the particular chapter in detail. Should Children use smartphones, they can comprehend the content of the subject more easily and quickly.

Moreover, online games regarding educational courses can motivate children to study and absorb details in a fun way. In fact, a study by the University of Harvard shows that when a child is involved in a game based-learning, they tend to expand their memory capacity which in turn, score excellent academic results. It goes without saying that teachers should implement online games as a homework rather than paper-based homework to appeal and encourage more students to complete their assignments in time. This clearly shows why technology helps students to learn more effectively.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that technology affects a teacher's ability to teach young people because of the abovementioned reasons. Therefore, nothing in my mind cast doubt on my stance regarding the given statement.