Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It goes without saying that people are always subjected to various kind of information and one of the most significant ones is news. In this vein, people can read or hear news from different kinds of people. As a matter of fact, there are many debates among individuals whether it is more beneficial to read news or watch them presented by people whose views are different form us, or follow the news that are presented by people whom their thinking ships are like us. As far as I’m concern, I prefer the first side, which I will talk about a about it in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, because people who think different broaden people’s horizons, it is valuable to follow them. To be more specific, in this hectic world, people are overwhelmed with a plethora of information. Nevertheless, most of the times, news and information does not add something new to people previous knowledge. Indeed, hearing something from someone who thinks different than others challenges the audience and can extend people’s outlooks. My own experience is a compelling example. Three years ago, I hardly believed that the government should spend a great deal of money to help addicted people. Those strata of society can use this money to pay their rent or else. However, I watched a news that strongly rebuts this action, and indicates that addicted people usually use this money to provide drug, and even avoid to work. In conclusion, that news added up a lot of information to me and talked about the proper approach. Now, I know deeply about that specific topic, which I did not know in the past.

Furthermore, read or watch news that are presented by groups whom their views contradict with a person is precious due to the fact that can motive him/her to select a moral way. To shed light on it, people are sensitive about notions that do not justify their thoughts. If someone tell them charity is a worthwhile action, they will remain reluctant to help others. On the other hand, if someone mentions that charity should be extinguished, they will help anyone whom they know. Sometimes using this trick make people enthusiastic to do the right thing. Let me elucidate this idea with a personal example. Mt brother, Ali, believed that the government should fight against poverty, and there is nothing that people can do. Finally, one day he saw a news on the television about that there are many pressures on the government to increase the budget for poor people. In that moment, my brother said that the government cannot do the magic and provide that money, people should help it too. In other words, he picked a side against his previous beliefs.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that receiving information from people who see things different than us is useful. Not only could help us to extended our knowledge, but also sometimes their opposite view makes people to choose the correct action.