Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends are considered to be a very important factor in a person's life. It is often said that a person should choose his circle of friends wisely. I agree that it is more important to keep old friends than to make new ones. I feel this way for three reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, Being in touch with old friend can be very helpful. Many times old friends can also become our mentor later on in our life, we can ask advice from them. My own life experience is a compelling example of this. Two years ago, I got a job offer from a company and I wanted some advice on how the company is?. One of my senior from college who is also my good friend used to work there. So, I contacted him and asked about his experience there. This really helped me a lot with my decision. If I would have not taken his advice, it would have not been possible for me to be financially stable right now. Thus, having old friends and be in touch can help a person a lot.

Secondly, People who are friends from long time know you well and the bond they share is more strong. The time friends have spend and experiences they have faced together helps in having better understanding. Old friends always have your back. For instance, Once I was very sad and feeling very lonely so I called my school friend and we have been friends for 7 years now. I started talking normally but she knew me very well and asked about my well being. She also cheered me up. Hence, the friends which have been with you for a long time know you well and understand's you.

Thirdly, Parents trusts old friends more than new friends. When a person makes new friends it is very difficult to trust someone. It takes a long time to earn trust from somebody. When you have been friends for a long time your family also starts to trust them. Old friends are like family only. Having approval of friends from parents is very important. For example, Once I wanted to go on a trip with my friends with my new friends but my father denied it. Later on, I asked him if I could go with my school friends and he agreed. My school friends used to visit my home often and my father knew them so he agreed. Thus, It is also very important that your family thinks your friends are trustworthy, and mostly old friends have earned their trust.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. This is because old friends are very helpful, they know you well and your parents also trust them.